School Survival Forums
1 Hour Speeches at School - Printable Version

+- School Survival Forums (http://forums.school-survival.net)
+-- Forum: Learning, Youth Rights and School Survival (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Alternative Learning & Income (/forumdisplay.php?fid=8)
+--- Thread: 1 Hour Speeches at School (/showthread.php?tid=35165)

1 Hour Speeches at School - Kartini - 03-16-2015 08:00 PM

I'm an expat English teacher at a private school in Indonesia. My younger brother also teaches. He is a senior high school Math teacher in New Zealand. I remember that my brother was always brilliant at Math from a young age. He was always top of the class for that subject. However, Math class was always a waste of time for him. He never learnt anything. He begged his elementary teachers to give him more advanced work but they refused to. To satisfy his own hunger for knowledge, he had to read math at a more advanced level at home. When he was at high school, he was reading university texts in his spare time.

From my brother's experience, I realised that some students are ready for higher level work and to keep them happy I wanted to create a program for them.

As I am an English teacher, I thought about a program that could be designed to help my students to speak English and at the same time reward them if they could reach a certain standard. I teach kindy kids, Grades 1-4, and Grade 7. I've taught every Grade except for Grade 9 and 12.

I developed a speech program where my students could get a certificate if they could speak English non-stop for a certain amount of time. Grade 1 students need to speak for 5 minutes to win a certificate. Grade 2 students have to speak for 10 minutes. The time gradually increases until Grade 12 students need to speak for 1 hour. I don't teach Grade 12 but they are free to come and see me to try a speech if they wish to.