School Survival Forums
Greetings from AZSASA in Arizona! - Printable Version

+- School Survival Forums (http://forums.school-survival.net)
+-- Forum: Sticky (/forumdisplay.php?fid=46)
+--- Forum: Welcome! (/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Thread: Greetings from AZSASA in Arizona! (/showthread.php?tid=34875)

Greetings from AZSASA in Arizona! - froomens - 01-10-2015 05:33 PM

Hi folks,

My name is Jason and I am an advocate for student freedom in education. I founded an organization called Arizona School-Averse Student Association (mentioned in this thread) whose mission is to empower students, especially those fed up with school, to take back control of their education. I think the chief problem holding most students back is that they don't realize viable alternatives to school exist. Y'all probably don't have that problem, but please read on.

We're a fledgling organization, made up of a few public school graduates and an idea -- but we have big plans and room to grow. We want to have local chapters everywhere with regular meetings, collaborative projects, awareness campaigns, conferences, plenty of opportunities for engagement/involvement/leadership in activism, and maybe even eventually lobby against compulsory education policies! But for now, we're taking things one step at a time.